Friday, February 26, 2016

Asking your opponent to stop notating...

... is illegal. You aren't supposed to talk to your opponent. 

Sometimes, very often in fact, a player will ask his opponent: "Do you want to stop notating?"

If you are asked this, just continue to notate. 

Also, it is wrong to pressure your opponent, before the game, to skip notating. 

Chess teaches you patience if you follow the rules. The rules say you have to notate until either player has less than 5 minutes. Special exceptions can be made by the tournament director for special situations. 

No comments: